Legler Decides Not To Seek Reelection

PASADENA – Texas State Representative Ken Legler, a two-term incumbent Republican member from District 144 in southeast Harris County, announced today he would not seek reelection in 2012. District 144 has been one of the districts at the center of the redistricting controversy as the Federal Court tried to reach a compromise on the Texas redistricting plan.

“I have enjoyed my two terms in the Texas Legislature,” Legler said. “I would like to thank my wife, Barbara, and my family, for allowing me to serve – their sacrifice goes unseen but not unnoticed by me. I would like to thank the people of Pasadena, Sagemont, South-Belt area and Houston for allowing me the honor and privilege of representing them in the Texas House of Representatives. I would like to thank my colleagues and my Speaker for making the time in Austin both productive and enjoyable.

“Perhaps the most rewarding part of the job has been the opportunity to meet so many really terrific people, in the District, at the Capitol, and across the state. To my friends and supporters, thank you for the opportunities you have given me. You have been a blessing to my family and me.

“I am on the record as voicing my strong displeasure over the Federal Courts meddling in the Texas Legislature’s internal affairs. The Texas Constitution gives the Legislature the authority to handle our own redistricting. We did so, in accordance with the law. I believe the Federal Court has usurped our authority, and have trampled our sovereignty and the 10th Amendment of the US Constitution.

“The good people of District 144 have been disenfranchised. The citizens of Pasadena have been split among four House Districts, denying them a unified and coherent voice in Austin.

“Those that know me know I do not back down from a fight. I seem to always enter a contest as the underdog and exit the victor. I have no reason to believe that 2012 would be any different. However, the sad fact is that the Federal Court has seen fit to give me a district that will be a constant electoral struggle every two years throughout the decade. That is a political distraction from legislative responsibilities that I choose not to accept.

“So, after much prayer, family discussion, and considerable consultation with friends and trusted advisors, I have decided I will not be a candidate for reelection in 2012.

“The decision is a painful one. I’m sure I will regret it all the more when my former colleagues convene at the Capitol for the 83rd Regular Session to address the peoples’ business and grapple with issues affecting all Texans,” Legler concluded.

One Response

  1. Ken,
    Your service is appreciated and will be greatly missed. I am proud to call you a friend.

    Jim Koontz

Leave a Reply

